additions to best of 2008 list

Posted in Music and other Arts by Joseph on December 30, 2009

Hey there, it’s Joseph, back to talk music.

I am hard at work on my best of 2009 list, but I had some unfinished business getting in the way.  Each year between December and March I listen to literally hundreds of bands as we go about booking our Music by the Slice day parties.   So it is typical that I discover a song in February that was released the previous year.  So with that in mind, here are my additions to the 2008 list.  If you would rather listen to it than read about it, then go for it.:

“Fog” – Mason Proper (would have been #40 on the full list)

“Black Fur” – Fredrik (spin off from another fav, The LK)

“Expectations” – Cut off Your Hands (Terrible name but there’s a story behind it;  I shouldn’t like this but I do.)

“I Give You Two Seconds to Entertain Me” – Northern Portrait (I know, it’s like The Smiths are back.  But c’mon, it’s like The Smiths are back!)

“Northwestern Girls” – Say Hi (this band’s sound sneaks up on you but stays around once it arrives.)

“The Kids Don’t Stand a Chance” – Vampire Weekend(In which I give in and acknowledge this band that everyone adores and I didn’t like but that maybe now I’m realizing is ok after all.)

“The Gardener” – The Tallest Man on Earth(Love this guys name.  He’s Swedish so who knows, maybe it’s true.)

“Inní mér syngur vitleysingur” – Sigur Ros (How did I miss this one the 1st time around?  Thank heaven for copy/paste so I didn’t have to type all that.)

“Bag of Hammers” – Thao with the Get Down Stay Down (So adorable.  Would have been # 5.)

Listen here.  Thanks and I’m out.

Leave a Reply

