MXTS 2010 Preview: The Cave Singers

Posted in Music and other Arts by Tara Bouley on February 23, 2010

Allyson, one of our fabulous employees, has this to say about The Cave Singers:

There’s just something about foot stomping, washboard playing and guitar finger-picking that makes me want to wriggle my hips, clap my hands and lose myself like a wild banshee. Enter: The Cave Singers. I fell in love with them when they released their raucous single in 2008, “Dancing on My Grave.” I then discovered their debut album, Invitation Songs, that had been released close on the heals of Pretty Girls Make Graves disbandment in 2007, of which guitarist Derek Fudesco was a member. Pete Quirk, formerly of Hint Hint, lends his unique pinched vocals, along with harmonica and guitar and Marty Lund, of once Cobra High, plays drums.

This talented trio does not reign from deep in the heart of Appalachia, as one might expect from their musical stylings, but instead call Seattle their home. No matter, they will be ALL OURS for a beautiful set of toe tapping, tambourine banging and general spirit lifting.

Welcome Joy, The Cave Singers sophmore album brings all the energy and sincerity that I’ve come to expect from Indie Folk. They are going to light our stage on fire, and I’ll be there, dancing in the ashes.

Leave a Reply

