Where were you in 1942?

Posted in Friends, Neighbors and Regulars by scovillain on June 18, 2010

HS regular Lauren Markaverich sent us this cool old photo. Here’s what she said about it:

My grandfather, Lemuel David Creswell, owned a camera shop back in the late 1940’s and early 1950’s on 10th and Congress called Austin Photo Supply. He passed away in 2006, and since then my family and I have slowly sifted through all the photos he took though those years when he ran the shop. I came across this one and immediately recognised the building in the forefront as my favorite spot for pie.

I thought you might enjoy a copy to show how far local business owners have come. Congress obviously looks much different now, and check out how sparse the downtown skyline was then! Thanks for making SoCo a great place all these years later. My grandfather would have loved Home Slice as much as I do.

Thanks, Lauren!

Leave a Reply

